Which Country Celebrate The New Year First And Who Celebrate It Last?

Want to know the First country to celebrate new year and also the Last country to celebrate new year?? 

As the December 31 approaches, the world is preparing to come together and welcome New Year 2018.

But obviously, the New Year arrives at different times for different countries across the globe. So which country will enter 2018 before any other and where does the New Year arrive last? Find out..

Which country celebrates New Year first?

Samoa, Tonga and Christmas Island/Kiribati is the first country in the world to welcome New Year 2018.

For most of the people around the world, Fireworks exploding over Sydney harbour symbolises the start of global New Year’s festivities. But it may surprise you to hear that Australia is not the first country in the world to welcome the New Year.

Where will 2018 arrive last?

After travelling all around the world, the New Year will eventually come full circle – or near enough.

The last place or places to receive 2018 will be the tiny outlying islands of the US.

Baker Island and Howland Island will greet the New Year at 12 Midday on January 1 – or at least they would if any people lived there.

Second last will be American Samoa at 11am – just 558 miles from Tonga, where locals and visitors were celebrating a full 25 hours before.

It’s therefore possible to get a quick flight in between the two and count down to 2018 twice.

 Last year's New Year celebrations lit up London

What time does New Year arrive around the world?

Using London time, this is when the world will welcome in 2018:

  • Sun 10:00              Tonga and two more
  • Sun 11:00              New Zealand
  • Sun 13:00-15:15  Australia
  • Sun 15:00              Japan & South Korea
  • Sun 15:30              North Korea
  • Sun 16:00              China, Philippines, Singapore
  • Sun 17:00              Most of Indonesia
  • Sun 17:30              Myanmar and Cocos Islands
  • Sun 18:00              Bangladesh
  • Sun 18:15              Nepal
  • Sun 18:30              India and Sri Lanka
  • Sun 19:00              Pakistan
  • Sun 19:30              Afghanistan
  • Sun 20:00              Azerbaijan
  • Sun 20:30              Iran
  • Sun 21:00              Moscow/Russia
  • Sun 22:00              Greece
  • Sun 23:00              Germany
  • Mon 00:00             United Kingdom
  • Mon 02-3:00         Brazil
  • Mon 03:00             Argentina, Paraguay
  • Mon 03:30-8:00   USA, Canada
  • Mon 09:00             Alaska
  • Mon 10:00             Hawaii
  • Mon 11:00             American Samoa
  • Mon 12:00             US outlying islands (Baker Island, Howland Island etc)

Leave a Reply